practical solutions
for a safer workplace

The NCSO® Designation

The objective of the National Construction Safety Officer (NCSO®) program is to provide verification of a nationally recognized level of competency in relation to construction safety.

The National Construction Safety Officer (NCSO®) designation verifies that a person has met the national standard of training, practical application, years of experience, and written performance measurement as set out by the members of the Canadian Federation of Construction Safety Associations (CFCSA).

Persons who achieve the NCSO® designation can be a valuable resource to management in the administration and implementation of a company’s health and safety program for the purpose of reducing incidents, injuries, or loss.


Getting started

To learn more about the requirements to achieving the NCSO® designation, take a look at our terms of participation document. To get started, follow the steps below. If you need help keeping track of your progress, download our requirements aid document.

Have construction field experience

The applicant must have a minimum of three years of construction field experience to receive the NCSO® designation.

You’ll need to submit proof of this experience via the online training portal — see below for further information on the training portal. Click here for more information on the proof of experience criteria.

Log into the online client portal


To log into the online client portal, you will need a Learner ID. To obtain this, contact CSAM by emailing safety@constructionsafety.ca or calling 204-775-3171 in Winnipeg or 204-728-3456 in Brandon.

Once you activate your online client portal account, you’ll be able to complete your NCSO® application and submit the required supporting documentation. What supporting documentation is required? Click here for experience letter criteria and documentation requirements.

You will also be able to track your training progress and register for required courses via the online portal. Take a look below for information on the required compulsory and elective courses.

Here’s a tutorial video to help you get started with the online client portal:

Complete 10 compulsory courses

All compulsory courses are available through CSAM’s classroom training:

Complete two elective courses

To fulfill requirements, elective courses must be provided by CSAM or a recognized provider and take a minimum duration of four hours.

Elective options from CSAM include:

Courses taken at any of the CSAM conferences or at a recognized training provider can be submitted for review and, if accepted, they will apply toward the elective requirements.

CSAM will grant equivalency for training taken with our affiliated associations through the CFCSA or Industry Based Safety Programs (IBSP) in Manitoba, but courses must meet the intent of the mandatory requirements.

Online training

Any two online courses will equal one elective course. Our full list of online courses is available here.

Submit supporting documentation

To evaluate the your ability to apply what you have learned in the classroom, you must submit three pieces of supporting documentation:

  • COR®/SECOR® internal audit (or COR®/SECOR® mock audit)
  • Inspection/hazard assessment
  • Toolbox talk presentation
  • Proof of three years’ construction experience (see experience letter criteria)

You can submit this documentation via the online client portal.

Write the provincial and national exam

The exam fee exam is $50. A minimum exam score of 80 per cent is required.

Exam dates are available in both Winnipeg and Brandon:

  • March 10, 2021 *Deadline for submitting documentation is March 3, 2021
  • June 16, 2021 *Deadline for submitting documentation is June 9, 2021
  • September 15, 2021 *Deadline for submitting documentation is September 8, 2021
  • December 8, 2021 *Deadline for submitting documentation is December 1, 2021

If you are ready to write your NCSO® exam, you will need to email ncso@constructionsafety.ca prior to the document submission deadline to register.

Maintaining your NCSO® designation

The NCSO® designation must be verified every three years. To maintain your NCSO® designation, you will be required to submit four pieces of documentation:

  • Inspection/hazard assessment (signed and current within one year)
  • Toolbox talk presentation (signed and current within one year)
  • Registered auditor certificate (current) or COR®/SECOR® internal audit or mock audit (current within one year)
  • First aid certificate (current)

If an NCSO® fails to submit the above documentation before the respective expiry dates, they will have to re-write the NCSO® national and provincial exam and re-submit all required documentation before the designation will be reinstated.

For more information

If you have any questions or require assistance, email ncso@constructionsafety.ca.